The Liebster Award — Take 2! πŸŽ‰

Hello everyone, and welcome back! Three posts in a row is unheard of from me, but today I’m bringing you something extra-special. Naemi @ A Book Owl’s Corner nominated me for the Liebster Award, and I’m just astounded and so grateful to all of you for your support and love. Thank you so much, Naemi. If you’re reading this, please go check out Naemi’s blog — her personality is so sweet, and I’m in love with everything she posts!

So without further ado, let’s get started!

The Rules

  1. Say thank you to the person who has nominated you for the Award.
  2. Answer the 11 questions the person has asked you.
  3. Nominate 11 people.
  4. Ask the people who you have nominated 11 questions.

You can read my first Liebster Award post here.

The Questions

What is a trope you can’t help but love, even though it’s overused?

Found family! Oh goodness gracious, this one never gets old. You’d think that constant bonding over shared tragic backstories and Burnt Marshmallowℒ️-ness might get annoying after a while. You’d be so wrong, because there’s nothing like that warm-fuzzy feeling I get when I read the perfect found family.

Describe your perfect quarantine day!

I get up at 8 in the morning, for once not ignoring my alarm’s ringing. I freshen up, eat breakfast, and spend the first hour of my day reading and meditating on the Bible. Then I read all day long, spend time with my family, and actually write my book reviews instead of procrastinating. I go out on my daily walk with my parents, get ready for bed, and curl up with a nice K-drama (preferably a rom-com). Ah, the dream.

If you could have any fictional pet, what would you choose?

I’m not one to fantasize over a pet dragon, but I do wish I could have a cat like Selma, Marva’s pet in the book The Voting Booth by Brandy Colbert. She just sounds so adorable, and I’m hopelessly in love with pretty cats.

What is your favorite and least favorite thing about blogging?

My favorite thing? Are you sure you didn’t mean things, perhaps? Because there’s no way I can choose. First of all, the community. The insanely supportive and understanding community, and the relative lack of drama compared to what I’ve heard about book Twitter (yikes). Secondly, the fact that I get to share my random thoughts on books that I love. Thirdly, the fact that I get to meet and interact with people who actually enjoy reading my random thoughts on books. We’d be here all day if I don’t stop here, so moving on.

My least favorite thing… I’ve mentioned this in another post of mine, but imposter syndrome seems to be something that many bloggers struggle with in general. But the community and how kind everyone is makes up for this many times over! πŸ₯°

If you were stranded on a deserted island all alone, which fictional character and which author would you choose to join you and why?

Ahhh, this is a hard one. I’d have to choose Abel from Defy the Stars by Claudia Gray, which isn’t a book/series I talk about often. Who knows why, because I absolutely loved it. Abel is a sentient mech (basically robot) who’s been stuck in a spaceship all alone for years at the beginning of the first book. I think he’d be nice company, and it doesn’t hurt that he’s a genius mechanic.

As for the author who’d be joining me, I would choose Brigid Kemmerer, author of the Cursebreakers series and several contemporary novels that I’m in love with. We could have a nice, long chat about exactly why she chose to hurt my cinnamon roll Grey, as well as whether or not she has plans to hurt him in the upcoming next book. (… that sounded a lot more threatening than I was going for.)

Describe your favorite book using emojis or GIFs, but don’t tell us what it is. Let’s see if someone can guess it in the comments!

πŸ™β€β™€οΈπŸ‘€πŸ‘»
πŸ™Žβ€β™‚οΈπŸ‘€πŸ€΄πŸ’€
πŸ™Žβ€β™‚οΈπŸ™Žβ€β™‚οΈπŸ™Žβ€β™‚οΈπŸ™Žβ€β™‚οΈπŸ«πŸ’Έ
πŸ™β€β™€οΈπŸ™Žβ€β™‚οΈπŸ™Žβ€β™‚οΈπŸ™Žβ€β™‚οΈπŸ™Žβ€β™‚οΈπŸ‘€πŸ€΄πŸ’€

I’m so bad at this πŸ˜… I’ll include the answer in my next post πŸ˜‰

If you could have any character from a book teach you one skill, what would you learn and who would be your mentor?

I would ask Ximena from Woven in Moonlight by Isabel IbaΓ±ez to teach me weaving. I’ve always been interested in doing stuff with thread and yarn, though that interest never really went anywhere. Ximena can literally weave moonlight into her tapestries, so I’m sure she’d make a more-than-adequate mentor.

Have you ever dressed up as a character from a book?

No…… I was never one for dressing up as anything. Though I’m in constant awe of bookworms who manage to utilize their stylist skills for cosplaying as their favorite characters.

What book are you proudest of forcing on other people? (For their own good, of course…)

For their own good, obviously. Obviously. πŸ˜…πŸ€·β€β™€οΈ

I always feel so accomplished and proud of myself when I convince anyone to pick up a book I loved. Recently, I sent my friend the book Tweet Cute by Emma Lord for her birthday by post. And I was amazed when she sent a barrage of texts near midnight a few days later, screaming that it was the best standalone she’d ever read. She then proceeded to text me a virtual essay of all the reasons she loved the book, and I was so. happy!!!! This must be what librarians live for. 🀩

(Also, I just discovered that Emma Lord has a new contemporary titled You Have a Match coming out in January 2021. It already sounds so gooddddd!)

What is your favorite blog post that you’ve ever written and why?

Cue the cringe-fest as I go through my own blog archives. I am pretty proud of my recommendations post that published yesterday in honor of Women’s Equality Day. I spent a lot of time on that post, and I’m satisfied with how it turned out. It was an opportunity to reflect on how white my bookshelf is, whether on purpose or inadvertently, and to resolve to do better. I think that’s the best thing I could ask for while writing a blog post.

Which post that someone else wrote have you enjoyed recently?

I recently discovered Adi @ One in a Million, and her discussion post about white supremacy in the bookish community was so well-written and managed to pinpoint the subtle and not-so-subtle discrimination in this community. Brava, Adi!

My Questions

  1. What’s the best book you’ve read from a recommendation?
  2. What’s a song you’ve had on repeat recently?
  3. What’s the first thing you do when you wake up?
  4. What are some ways that other people can tell that you’re a bookworm?
  5. What’s something you wish you could be better at and why?
  6. If you were the host of a talk show, who would you like to interview? (Fictional, living, dead, anyone!)
  7. What’s the last book that made you cry?
  8. How many places have you lived in?
  9. How many blogs are you currently following in your Reader?
  10. I have good news and bad news: which one would you want to hear first?
  11. Where do you feel most at peace?

I Tag…

Ariel @ The Book View
Breanna @ Paws & Paperbacks
Dani @ Literary Lion
Tiffany @ Read by Tiffany
Caitlin @ Caitlin Althea
Meg @ A Little Shelf-Righteous
Stephen @ Stephen Writes
Taylor @ Nerd Narration
Marie @ Drizzle & Hurricane Books
Julie @ One Book More
Kay @ Hammock of Books

Please don’t feel any pressure to complete this tag if you’re not interested! And if you’re someone who’s been tagged who has no idea who on earth I am, I’m really sorry — I’m horrific at interacting with the bloggers I follow. Please know that I adore all of your content and I’m working to interact more with all of you!! 😍πŸ₯°β€οΈ

That’s it for today! Thanks for reading everyone! How about you? What book are you proudest of for forcing on someone else? Have you ever dressed up as a fictional character? What do you think is the book I described in emojis? Chat with me in the comments!

20 thoughts on “The Liebster Award — Take 2! πŸŽ‰

  1. Oooh, Tweet Cute sounds good! I’m definitely going to check it out. And thanks so much for the nomination! I’m loving your questions. πŸ™‚ I chuckled when I read the question about what song I have on repeat. I have a 9 year old who is currently obsessed with the movie Zombies. So I’ve been listening to songs like “Do It Like the Zombies Do” lol

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Tweet Cute is probably one of the cutest books I’ve read this year! I’m glad I convinced you to pick it up πŸ˜†

      Omg, that’s hilarious πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ Those songs have a tendency to get stuck in your head πŸ˜‚ I’m looking forward to reading your answers!! Thanks for the comment Julie! πŸ’›

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I loved your answers! 😊❀ And your questions with are so interesting, too – I will definitely have to see what the people you tagged come up with πŸ˜‰
    And is the book The Raven Boys? I’m pretty much only going off of the dead king here, but at least the rest of the stuff fits better than Hamlet, which is what it reminded me of at first πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww thank you Naemi! I had so much fun answering your questions!

      And bingo to The Raven Boys! πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰ I can definitely see why you’d think of Hamlet. I’m not used to using emojis to actually mean anything πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

      Thanks for reading and commenting! πŸ’›

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you so much for the tag, Abby! πŸ₯° I loved reading your answers; the community is amazing and I also had imposter syndrome for a while to begin with. Your perfect quarantine day sounds really nice!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I loved Tweet Cute!! Such a lovely contemporary and I loved the rival business aspect. I’m also really excited to read The Voting Booth. It’s available as an audiobook so I might try it with that format rather than reading the book so hopefully that doesn’t impact my experience negatively.
    Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Tweet Cute was so adorable! I’m addicted to enemies-to-lovers romance, and the references to teen culture made it so much more relatable. ❀️❀️

      I enjoyed reading The Voting Booth β€” it was really cute and it was great reading about social justice from the characters’ POVs. I hope you enjoy it as well!!

      Thanks for reading and commenting, Emme! πŸ€—

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh my gosh, thank you so much for linking to my post, Abby!! πŸ₯Ί It means so much to me that you liked it <3. I also loved Woven In Moonlight and now that I'm thinking about it, I would also totally ask Ximena to teach me weaving 😍
    It's so nice to meet you, Abby! I've been so behind on WP notifs lol but I'll go check them out right now :))

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I took away so much from your post, Adi! I’m so jealous about how well-written your discussions are!

      Ximena would definitely make a great weaving teacher. Though in hindsight I’m not sure I’d like to be in the same room as her on a bad day; she has quite the temper, if I remember correctly… πŸ˜…

      I’m a big fan of your blog, and I’m so excited to interact more with you! And good luck with the notifications πŸ˜‚ Thanks for reading and commenting, Adi! ❀️

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you so much Abby! πŸ₯° Aww, that means so much to me because my discussion posts are usually brain vomits lol.
        You might be true – I haven’t read the book in 6 months ish~ but I don’t remember her having a huge temper?? Then again, I’m not known for my amazing memory πŸ˜‚
        I’m excited too! Yess, I’m finallY on top of the notifs haha. Thank you ! ❀

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much Ahaana!! And Tweet Cute was the sweetest thing ever β€” I’m so excited for you to read it! And omg I relate so much to that… struggles of an underage bookworm, I suppose… πŸ˜‚ Thank you for stopping by and for this lovely comment, Ahaana! πŸ’•

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment