Abby’s Autumn Almanac (ft. fall book recs, tbr, music, & shows) πŸ‚

hello everyone and welcome back! in the time since i last posted, summer has long taken its leave and fall is now officially in full swing πŸ₯Ή to mark the occasion, i wanted to write something celebrating my favorite season. fall, for me, is the season of new beginnings, the accompanying self-doubt, shedding leaves, beautiful colors of nature, crisp winds, and cozy reading time. i wanted to ramble about my fall-specific book, music, and k-drama recommendations with you all, which is how i ended up writing this autumn almanac πŸ€— for my equator and southern hemisphere friends, this post may not be entirely relevant, but i hope you enjoy the recommendations nonetheless πŸ˜…

so without further ado, here’s the post!

πŸ“• books to read this fall πŸ“•

i don’t know about you guys, but in my opinion, something about fall just screams historical fiction. whether it’s an epistolary novel set in the aftermath of world war ii (the guernsey literary and potato peel pie society), an ancient roman culinary epic spanning decades (feast of sorrow), a lushly romantic dickens retelling (olivia twist), a densely-researched and utterly compelling backstory for one of america’s founding mothers (my dear hamilton), or a multi-pov narrative set in post-wwii japanese american internment camps (we are not free), there’s something for everyone in this vast genre.

fall also brings to mind settling into my favorite reading nook with a glass of something hot and an unputdownable mystery novel in hand. the inheritance games is perfect if you’re in the mood for a plot that’s bewilderingly addictive and puzzles that you need to see solved. or you can try a good girl’s guide to murder or a study in charlotte for more “run-of-the-mill” murder mysteriesβ€”the latter also comes with a perfect dose of angsty romance 😚 and let’s not forget about historical mysteries, the epitome of fall, as seen in the silence of bones and stalking jack the ripper 😍

i personally don’t allow myself to let this season pass by without curling up with at least one literary fiction and/or classic novel. there’s so many favorites to choose from! do you want to reflect on the beauty of literature? read the unlikely escape of uriah heep or the storied life of a. j. fikry! intent on having an existential crisis? try revolutionary road, bel canto, or the great gatsby!

looking for dark academia vibes with ominous characters and even more ominous storylines? it doesn’t get any better than babel: an arcane history, frankenstein, and the complete sherlock holmes. or maybe you’re more of a light academia person (aka me) and would like to recover your faith in the power of kindness? anne of green gables and little women have got you covered.

lastly, here are some books with fall vibes i’m excited to read soonβ€”not necessarily this fall, but soon nevertheless πŸ˜… i want to try a new genre with together we rot, which will be my first horror novel ever! caraval and the ten thousand doors of january have been on my tbr for ages. the same goes for a declaration of the rights of magiciansβ€”i now own the physical copies of both installments in this duology, so i will definitely be starting this sooner rather than later. and the travelling cat chronicles just sounds so wholesome and pure that i’ve been saving it for when i want to indulge myself πŸ₯°

🎻 music to listen to this fall 🎻

hadestown is atmospheric, tender, eerie, and devastating. in other words, it’s an excellent soundtrack for a stormy autumn evening when you’d like to have a good, cathartic cryfestβ€”i’d especially like to recommend “all i’ve ever known” and “flowers.” anne of green gables, like its source material, is heartwarming and so very poignant. my current faves on the album are “oh, my diana” and “lonely,” which both perfectly embody the fall seasonal blues πŸ₯² “balancing the scales” from the unofficial bridgerton musical always makes me feel weepy (“edmund, are you there?” πŸ₯Ί) and appreciative that the word bittersweet exists in the english language. and “the truth untold” from love yourself: tear is my go-to heartbreak ballad. the last chorus always obliterates me 😭

moving onto some (slightly) happier songs! “eight (feat. suga)” is the wistful pop-rock track that never fails to lift my spirits (as long as i don’t pay attention to the lyrics… 😟) the soundtrack of hospital playlist season 2 is the place to go if you’re looking for covers of korean classicsβ€”the one i turn to during the fall is “butterfly,” an encouraging anthem perfect for uplifting a dejected mood. the same goes for “the wizard and i” from wicked. there’s nothing more autumn-coded than dreaming of a better tomorrow only to be confronted by tragic foreshadowing πŸ˜‡ the good witch, my latest obsession, is the unofficial healing girl autumn soundtrack, especially “there it goes” (“i wake up and it’s october / the loss is yours”!!!) πŸ₯Ή lastly, red (taylor’s version) is the one taylor album i let myself put on this list, and it’s for good reason. “red”? “starlight”? a certain 10-minute song that is definitely not happy in the slightest? please.

πŸ“Ί tv shows to watch this fall πŸ“Ί

see you in my 19th life, the third charm, and run on are all romantic dramas that wholeheartedly embrace the fall values of internal conflict and well executed angst. happy endings aren’t necessarily guaranteed, but beautiful relationships most definitely are 😊 reply 1988 is my favorite show on this list, and in my top 5 shows of all time. there’s something about it that makes me return to it every fall and winter. first love confessions in the snow. first heartbreaks in the crisp night air. friendships and communities stronger than steel. the ever-present but awkwardly expressed love for family. all set at the turn of the century in a country floundering for stability, but where love and kindness can be found in the smallest of places. literally nothing can convince me that this show isn’t a masterpiece.

if you’re looking for something less wholesome, the thrillers judge vs. judge and reborn rich might do it for youβ€”both feature likable protagonists who are thrust into decidedly unlikable situations, featuring surprising plot twists and exquisite character arcs. guardian (also known as goblin) is, objectively, THE fall drama. it’s emotive, angsty, and tragically romantic, fantastical, frequently humorous but occasionally devastating. the red sleeve, on the other hand, is only very occasionally humorous and regularly devastating. perfect for the fall historical fiction vibes, but tissues are definitely a requirement, especially for the last few episodes πŸ₯²

and that’s it for today! i’ve been working on this post on again and off again for the past few weeks, and i’m so glad that i was able to finish it before fall came and went πŸ˜… heads-up that i very likely won’t be able to post again until early novemberβ€”fall may be the season of romantic sentimentality, but it’s also the season of being stuck in the proverbial academic trenches πŸ₯΄

but i’d love to hear what you all think! do you have any fall traditions or any fall-specific favorites? what do you think of my picks? let me know in the comments below πŸ’›

until next time, stay safe and happy reading, everyone! πŸ’•

9 thoughts on “Abby’s Autumn Almanac (ft. fall book recs, tbr, music, & shows) πŸ‚

  1. Fall- the advantage of being cooler

    The book I am reading now has fall colors on it- A Tale of Sorcery

    One of my fall traditions is drinking at least on Pumpkin Spice Latte, and of course Thanksgiving needs the pumpkin pie (the only thing that could substitute it would be Pumpkin Cheesecake)

    Like

  2. I might not get seasons here but so far ‘autumn’ has been rainy and cool, and when indoors and wrapped up in blankets, very comfy!! I love this post! I have read only a very few books from your list and I agree with including them here ❀ sherlock holmes and anne of green gables? definitely an autumn read. alix e harrow's ten thousand doors of january seems intriguing.
    As for the kdramas, i've watched run on and reply 1988 and both are my favourites : ) gahh the ending of reply 1988 was so bittersweet and made me think of my own childhood.
    happy reading!!!

    Like

  3. This post was like autumn itself, a warm hug, an ode to this beautiful season! I really like how you described Reply 1988. I haven’t seen it yet, but after your praise, I’ll definitely get to it. And Goblin too.
    Red (Taylor’s Version) and Wicked are definitely autumn vibes, I’ve been listening to Wicked a lot lately.Β 

    Like

  4. I wholeheartedly agree with all of your book recs that I’ve read myself – which is probably a sign that I should get my hands on copies of the others ASAP πŸ˜‚ And the music and movie recs, too, to be honest. I still have to watch a k-drama at some point!

    And my own fall traditions? I guess I just eat a ton of pumpkin pie and drink loads of hot cocoa and tea. And I also love collecting mushrooms in the woods! There’s something so calming and satisfying about searching for them… I actually think that part is even more satisfying than eating them afterwards 😁

    Like

  5. I am so jealous of the fall you describe, with the colours and the leaves and the crisp winds 😍 Sadly, here we’re still dealing with summer-like weather, most days we don’t even need a jacket. I can’t wait for the cold weather to kick in!

    Historical fiction and mysteries are so perfect for this season and your recommendations sound great! I’ve seen the Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society film and I loved it so much that I’ve been meaning to pick up the book ever since. Its vibes are perfect for fall! Feast of Sorrow also went instantly into my tbr list, you had me at culinary epic! I love your classics choices β€” Frankenstein, Holmes and The Great Gatsby are amongst my favourite books and Little Women is the perfect cozy read for any season.

    I LOVE the inclusion of Hadestown in this list! It’s one of my absolute favourite musicals and the transition of the seasons happening in autumn is the perfect time to listen to it for maximum relatability and sadness. It’s all so beautiful and gut-wrenching! Though, I will admit that I sometimes skip Flowers to avoid sobbing uncontrollably in public spacesπŸ˜….

    Like

  6. Hi Abby!! I’m late to this, but I live at the equator so it makes no difference haha, but I appreciate the fall vibes πŸ₯°. We Are Not Free and Babel both broke me completely, I can still feel my heartache! And we love to see the cozy classics here – Little Women and Anne of Green Gables – agreed, the spirit of kindness is always such a nice thing to return to in these books! Thank you for this lovely and atmospheric guide, I hope that school and life has been treating you well. Wishing you a blessed new year ahead! πŸ’›

    Like

Leave a comment